Thursday, September 24, 2009

IBS... Irritable Bi*chy Syndrome.

So.. I don't know if it's the fact that I am 6 days overdue, completely exhausted due to the inability to get any sleep, my feet are swollen to double their size OR because I have excruciating pains due to a bladder infection but... ladies and gentlemen.. I have caught it: IBS. Irritiable Bi*chy Sydrome.

Ok, ok. I know that's not what IBS stands for, but I'm throwing it out there! Some common symptoms are:

1) Lack of energy to care to put a smile on your face
2) Loss of hope and plummeting into the despair of never-endingness
3) Cranky, moody and EXTREMELY sensitive.
4) Ready to burst into tears over the slightest reminder as to how long you've had to wait so far.
5) Snapping at everyone around you, even when what they say is absolutely true.

I know I'm not naturally what one might call a "chipper" person at the best of times, but at this point I have lost all energy to care and have an optimistic view. I feel as though I have been prego for years and that the days couldn't go by fast enough. As each day passes, one would think I would get more hopeful.. but instead it's more depressive. If one more person asks me when I'm due, I just might snap.

I did have a lil fun of my own, asking the clerk when SHE was due after she'd asked me... knowing pretty well that she wasn't prego. Maybe that'll teach her to mind her own business. Now, if only I could get everyone in the WORLD to do the same... or to stop staring. I really wish disposable cameras were $1. I'd walk around with a bag full of them and pass them out to onlookers and say the old but still very appealing statement: "Take a picture, it'll last longer". Like really, WHAT are you looking at?!

*Sigh*. It's sad that the light at the end of the tunnel is this possible induction, something I don't even want in the first place! But now that I am almost a week overdue and as uncomfortable as possible in this state, a lengthy induction seems to be the only answer to my prayers. While I know it takes a while, it's hard not to look forward to it; especially considering how long I've been waiting anyway!

You know, the other thing I have been thinking about is this: If at this point she feels the need to take her time coming out, isn't this reflective of the way she'll be forever? Taking her time to do... anything? I would bet my life on it! What is one to do at this point? Do I dare toward the dreaded castor oil, or do I just wait it out? I don't think these stretch marks are getting any smaller and neither is her head!!

I have to quote my favourite show at this point: "I'm just saying, that baby's head isn't getting any smaller. Yoooowzer!!" HAHA. At the end of the day, the cure for MY IBS is Friends. "The One Where Rachel Is Late" is my most favourite episode and it has been since the day I found out I was prego. Even then I knew I would be like Rachel in that episode, I do wish I had a Ross to irritate me even more! "Ross, can I ask you a question? When Carol was pregnant, were you this irritating?"... "I'm not trying to irritate you"... "Oh well then you just must have a natural talent for it!".. Classic!!!

So.. prego ladies.. if you're feeling blue.. find that episode and watch it! Maybe it will lift your spirits! Even though it's fiction, it's still hilarious!! Perhaps we also won't look so bad to our loved ones if they watch it too ;). "We should really ask the doctor if she even knows how to deliver a baby that's half human, half pure evil!!" Ohhh.. love it!

Ok, that's all for this one!! Hopefully my next blog will be a rager about the joys of LABOUR... not the herendousness of still being prego!! Keep your fingers crossed!! :P

No comments:

Post a Comment