Tuesday, September 15, 2009

Almost Time... Perhaps?

Well well well, another rager here!

I have a few concerns with this one, particularily because I'm not in the greatest mood after finding out I could be spending my 23rd birthday being induced... for those of you who may not know exactly what this entails.. just imagine having to go back and forth from the hospital every few hours until something actually comes of it. Not to mention having to perhaps spend the day waiting for them to call you to actually come down. Does this sound like something anyone would want to do on their birthday? The other thing is, and maybe I seem selfish to you but I don't really care... I don't want to share my birthday. I am more than willing to share a lot of things with this baby, hell I've shared a body for the past 10 months nearly, is it too much to ask that I can have a day that's just about ME? *Sigh* perhaps it is.

The other thing that peeves me, is when you go to the doctor and he asks you the same questions... this one is my favourite: Any bleeding? I would sooo like to say "Actually yes, it started 3 days ago but I thought that since I had this appointment coming up I'd just wait to tell you about it". Like really, if I were bleeding I'd have gone to the hospital by now, get real! There are so many things I'd like to say that I refrain from...

For instance, when this man decides to chat me up in the line at 7-11 about my due date and how I'll just love it when she's out and blah blah blah. I don't know how much more unapproachable I can make myself, I had the worst scowl on my face but my belly just outweighs this because people constantly think it's some sort of conversation piece. Like really, just because I'm pregnant doesn't mean I give a DAMN about what you have to say. Trust me, being pregnant doesn't make you this sunshiney-hippy of a person who's all about peace and love. Ok, granted maybe it does for some people but not this girl. So if you see the scowl it means, F*** off!! Maybe I should put a sign on my belly that says: "No, I don't care what you are thinking or wanting to comment about the belly this is attached to" or maybe make a shirt. It really is a thought that's crossed my mind more than once today.

The last rant I have is about this. There should be a sign that says "Pregnancy does not equal handicapped". Like, when you walk up to a store clerk and they ask if you need a chair. I think I'm ok, I can get a chair if I need one. I don't know how they think that is flattering, "oh you look helpless, please I'll be nice and act like I care". Give me a break. I'm no less of a self-sufficient person than I was without a huge basketball sticking out of my front, so again the words "F*** off" come to mind. Don't get me wrong, if I've fallen on the floor and am in dire need of a hand, feel free. But don't make random comments like getting me a chair or a water bottle and expect me to be happy about it. I think this is moreso a feminist issue than anything else, I'm a woman and I can do for myself. Thank you.

Ok.. well in a few days when I've calmed down and read this I will realize just how ridiculous it sounds. But for now, that's my rant and I feel it's been a good one!

For all you prego's out there, good luck! I hope you all don't have to spend so much time being pregnant! I enjoyed most of it but now it's time for her to just hit the road, not that I won't be there to snatch her up when she comes out, THAT i'm excited for!!

No comments:

Post a Comment