Thursday, September 24, 2009

IBS... Irritable Bi*chy Syndrome.

So.. I don't know if it's the fact that I am 6 days overdue, completely exhausted due to the inability to get any sleep, my feet are swollen to double their size OR because I have excruciating pains due to a bladder infection but... ladies and gentlemen.. I have caught it: IBS. Irritiable Bi*chy Sydrome.

Ok, ok. I know that's not what IBS stands for, but I'm throwing it out there! Some common symptoms are:

1) Lack of energy to care to put a smile on your face
2) Loss of hope and plummeting into the despair of never-endingness
3) Cranky, moody and EXTREMELY sensitive.
4) Ready to burst into tears over the slightest reminder as to how long you've had to wait so far.
5) Snapping at everyone around you, even when what they say is absolutely true.

I know I'm not naturally what one might call a "chipper" person at the best of times, but at this point I have lost all energy to care and have an optimistic view. I feel as though I have been prego for years and that the days couldn't go by fast enough. As each day passes, one would think I would get more hopeful.. but instead it's more depressive. If one more person asks me when I'm due, I just might snap.

I did have a lil fun of my own, asking the clerk when SHE was due after she'd asked me... knowing pretty well that she wasn't prego. Maybe that'll teach her to mind her own business. Now, if only I could get everyone in the WORLD to do the same... or to stop staring. I really wish disposable cameras were $1. I'd walk around with a bag full of them and pass them out to onlookers and say the old but still very appealing statement: "Take a picture, it'll last longer". Like really, WHAT are you looking at?!

*Sigh*. It's sad that the light at the end of the tunnel is this possible induction, something I don't even want in the first place! But now that I am almost a week overdue and as uncomfortable as possible in this state, a lengthy induction seems to be the only answer to my prayers. While I know it takes a while, it's hard not to look forward to it; especially considering how long I've been waiting anyway!

You know, the other thing I have been thinking about is this: If at this point she feels the need to take her time coming out, isn't this reflective of the way she'll be forever? Taking her time to do... anything? I would bet my life on it! What is one to do at this point? Do I dare toward the dreaded castor oil, or do I just wait it out? I don't think these stretch marks are getting any smaller and neither is her head!!

I have to quote my favourite show at this point: "I'm just saying, that baby's head isn't getting any smaller. Yoooowzer!!" HAHA. At the end of the day, the cure for MY IBS is Friends. "The One Where Rachel Is Late" is my most favourite episode and it has been since the day I found out I was prego. Even then I knew I would be like Rachel in that episode, I do wish I had a Ross to irritate me even more! "Ross, can I ask you a question? When Carol was pregnant, were you this irritating?"... "I'm not trying to irritate you"... "Oh well then you just must have a natural talent for it!".. Classic!!!

So.. prego ladies.. if you're feeling blue.. find that episode and watch it! Maybe it will lift your spirits! Even though it's fiction, it's still hilarious!! Perhaps we also won't look so bad to our loved ones if they watch it too ;). "We should really ask the doctor if she even knows how to deliver a baby that's half human, half pure evil!!" Ohhh.. love it!

Ok, that's all for this one!! Hopefully my next blog will be a rager about the joys of LABOUR... not the herendousness of still being prego!! Keep your fingers crossed!! :P

Tuesday, September 15, 2009

Almost Time... Perhaps?

Well well well, another rager here!

I have a few concerns with this one, particularily because I'm not in the greatest mood after finding out I could be spending my 23rd birthday being induced... for those of you who may not know exactly what this entails.. just imagine having to go back and forth from the hospital every few hours until something actually comes of it. Not to mention having to perhaps spend the day waiting for them to call you to actually come down. Does this sound like something anyone would want to do on their birthday? The other thing is, and maybe I seem selfish to you but I don't really care... I don't want to share my birthday. I am more than willing to share a lot of things with this baby, hell I've shared a body for the past 10 months nearly, is it too much to ask that I can have a day that's just about ME? *Sigh* perhaps it is.

The other thing that peeves me, is when you go to the doctor and he asks you the same questions... this one is my favourite: Any bleeding? I would sooo like to say "Actually yes, it started 3 days ago but I thought that since I had this appointment coming up I'd just wait to tell you about it". Like really, if I were bleeding I'd have gone to the hospital by now, get real! There are so many things I'd like to say that I refrain from...

For instance, when this man decides to chat me up in the line at 7-11 about my due date and how I'll just love it when she's out and blah blah blah. I don't know how much more unapproachable I can make myself, I had the worst scowl on my face but my belly just outweighs this because people constantly think it's some sort of conversation piece. Like really, just because I'm pregnant doesn't mean I give a DAMN about what you have to say. Trust me, being pregnant doesn't make you this sunshiney-hippy of a person who's all about peace and love. Ok, granted maybe it does for some people but not this girl. So if you see the scowl it means, F*** off!! Maybe I should put a sign on my belly that says: "No, I don't care what you are thinking or wanting to comment about the belly this is attached to" or maybe make a shirt. It really is a thought that's crossed my mind more than once today.

The last rant I have is about this. There should be a sign that says "Pregnancy does not equal handicapped". Like, when you walk up to a store clerk and they ask if you need a chair. I think I'm ok, I can get a chair if I need one. I don't know how they think that is flattering, "oh you look helpless, please I'll be nice and act like I care". Give me a break. I'm no less of a self-sufficient person than I was without a huge basketball sticking out of my front, so again the words "F*** off" come to mind. Don't get me wrong, if I've fallen on the floor and am in dire need of a hand, feel free. But don't make random comments like getting me a chair or a water bottle and expect me to be happy about it. I think this is moreso a feminist issue than anything else, I'm a woman and I can do for myself. Thank you.

Ok.. well in a few days when I've calmed down and read this I will realize just how ridiculous it sounds. But for now, that's my rant and I feel it's been a good one!

For all you prego's out there, good luck! I hope you all don't have to spend so much time being pregnant! I enjoyed most of it but now it's time for her to just hit the road, not that I won't be there to snatch her up when she comes out, THAT i'm excited for!!

Wednesday, September 9, 2009

Being a grown-up...

So recently I realized just what it means to be a "grown-up".. sure I'm in my early 20's and thought of course, I knew everything.. who doesn't?! But it seems to me that I am quite inexperienced as far as "life" goes which scares the heck out of me!

I have never been one to use the internet to buy anything, ever. But now, I realize that maybe I should have! Because now, I have to be a grown-up and do grown-up things... like buying a breast pump for instance. Well, the best way it seems is to go online but I haven't a freaking CLUE what to do, who to trust and that is not good when you're dropping a few hundred dollars on something via the internet. If I have no experience with this, what else is going to fall into my lap that I'll have to deal with? Ahhh I'm such an organizer and preparer.. (I'm not even sure that's a word) that the next part of this pregnancy, the whole not being pregnant and actually caring for the baby part, scares me to death!! I'm anxious but at the same time, with her in there I don't have much responsibility (besides you know, not dying and things like that).

So right now, I'm on the verge of really being an adult and having someone else's life literally in the palm of my hands. They say all this stuff is normal and right now it's hard to imagine feeling absolutely ready and secure. I'm hoping that I'll see her and all that fear will go away haha but I have a sneaking suspicion it may just get worse. So.. for now, I'm the scared prego mama with a baby really "on the way"... and I'll keep you posted as to how that all pans out!