Servers:
1. The Do-gooder: the server who has a genuine smile on their face and cares to make sure they do anything they can to make your experience really great!
2. The "This is just my jobber": The server who will put a half smile on their face in order to ensure that you at least tip them something when you pay your bill.
3. The "I Don't Give a Shi*ter": The person who comes to your table to get your order to ensure you don't get her fired but beyond that you know she just doesn't care if someone dropped your food on the floor before the plates were brought to your table.
Since good always comes with bad, the same categories can be given to customers but with a tiny different spin to them.
Customers:
1. The Nice One: This customer is the one who will greet you with a larger smile than you have when you arrive ten minutes late to take a drink order and still tip you really well because they can see it's really busy or that you are trying really hard.
2. The Awkward One: This customer either makes odd jokes that are difficult to understand or has strange mannerisms like not making eye contact with you their entire visit. Every time you leave their table you are either shaking your head at something strange or are dumbfounded that the person just said "that".
3. The Complainer: The customer that just has to complain. The one you just want to punch to give them something to complain about (and make yourself feel better in the process). These customers have the ability to ruin a server's whole night. While there may be legitimate reasons to complain, these people generally are just rude and what they are complaining about is so minuscule you wonder how they've survived in a world full of hardships up until that point.
Now, both of these categories have definite variations and degrees. Categories may be mixed or some servers/customers may only be in one category for a short period of time but these generally cover the types of people that serve the food and the ones who come to eat it.
It's amazing to me though, how people can be so rude. I wonder to myself at times how they have gotten along in the world. Have they only had the opportunity to be so rude to someone in an industry where a well-known motto is "The customer is always right"? It's upsetting to think that as "civilized" beings we cannot take a step out of our bubble to either pay closer attention to the details (in some serving cases) and to give a guy a break (in some customer occasions).
I would like to say this once and for all: Just because you don't get tiped at your job doesn't mean it's okay to leave me nothing on a $70 bill. It's no longer okay with me that you have never worked or know anyone in the service industry because I should not have to pay $1.75 out of my own pocket for you to come here and be so much of a penny pincher you took every single cent of change I gave to you. We are living in the 21st century, it should be common knowledge that it is NOT RIGHT to walk out of a restaurant without tipping your server. Even if you think they did a terrible job, no one deserves to come to work only to pay money from their own pocket. Believe me, karma will come about in different ways it is not your job to place it.
Anyway, I think that's a good start. I'll start thinking about all the stupid things that have happened lately. Here's a good one to leave you with: While handing a lady a steak sandwich she asks for me to bring her garlic toast. I stifle a laugh when I look down to see her garlic toast under her steak, just the way a steak sandwich always comes. Then her husband points to the toast while she goes "Oh UGHHHHHH!!!" (As though it's somehow someone else's fault she's that dumb).
Good night!
No comments:
Post a Comment